squemish

Author Topic: Library Workshops September 2017  (Read 74 times)

DrCPriest

  • Co-Director
  • Socratic
  • *****
  • Posts: 310
Library Workshops September 2017
« on: August 28, 2017, 06:39:42 am »
 The following LIVE online workshops are available in September to all AiPOD students, faculty, and staff.  These workshops are hosted by the Ask Today On Call Library Service.  All workshops are approximately 45-60 minutes in length.
 
Note: Users must register prior to the workshop.  Registration is simpleŚclick on the link under the title of the workshop you wish to attend and follow the prompts.  Attendees at the live workshops receive a certificate of completion.

Discover It, the Premier Search Tool for The Art Institutes ~ Sunday, 9/10 @ 5 PM ET (2 PM PT)
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8812077007505724162
Discover It is our search tool that allows us to search many of the resources in the library collection including the catalog and electronic resources. Learn about the unique and useful features of Discover It in this online session.

Pluralsight Creative (formerly Digital Tutors) ~ Wednesday, 9/13 @ 7 PM ET (4 PM PT)
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2845573860844263938
Pluralsight Creative is the largest online training library of thousands of video-based lessons. From learning how to use software to tips on game design and moviemaking, Pluralsight is there to help. Be sure to attend this webinar, which will go over how to search within the tutorial database and point out the many great features of Pluralsight Creative.

Paraphrasing and Quoting ~ Sunday, 9/17 @ 6 PM ET (3 PM PT) https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2869007752167257858
One important aspect of using information in classwork is to understand the difference between paraphrasing and quoting. This webinar will review various methods to use your sources in school papers and projects. This webinar will not cover APA or MLA in detail, but will point you in the right direction for help!

Points of View Reference Center ~ Tuesday, 9/19 @ 8 PM ET (5 PM PT)
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4227067340191395330
Are you writing a paper on a controversial topic or that needs to present arguments from both sides? Do you want a better understanding of different viewpoints on current issues? Points of View Reference Center presents opposing viewpoints on many key issues in the form of essays and draws on magazines, newspapers, TV transcripts, and primary sources for additional content. This database (or debate-base!) can help foster a deeper understanding of issues for your schoolwork and beyond!